It’s Been A While…

imageAfter surviving the Holidays and the rigors of making almost 100 Christmas and Hanukkah cards, my right brain shriveled up into the fetal position and curled into a quiet, dark corner of my square head.  It was rudely awakened by me:  “Hello, hello, anyone in there?  We need to make a bridal shower card!”  It slowly unfurled, somnolent and sclerotic, stretched and yawned.  I laid out pieces of card stock in the wedding colors of the bride to be.  It just sat and stared; I just sat and stared.  Nothing, nothing, nothing.  Finally out of desperation, I reluctantly pulled out the Ellen Hutson All Inside stamp set.  I say reluctantly because I use it time after time whenever I get Crafter’s Block.  It has saved me repeatedly, though.  I tried to resist, but I had no choice.  It was time to break out the big guns!

First I cut out the Bear using the coordinating die from Canson watercolor paper. I have found that cutting the bear out first and then stamping the image directly on top works out best for me. When I stamp it first and then try to cut it out, I have on many occasions, amputated some part of the bear–foot, ear, etc. I prefer being a competent crafter as opposed to an inept surgeon. I taped it on the back with Micropore tape to my homemade stamping tool that resembles one that rhymes with “listy”,  stamped it, the bouquet of flowers and umbrella from Ellen Hutsons Bear Wear and the bow from Pretty Pink Posh Holiday Pals all on Canson watercolor paper using My Favorite Things Hybrid Ink in Hot Fudge.  I then cut out the other images using their coordinating dies.

I colored the images with the following Copic Sketch markers:  N0, N2, N4 and N6 for the bear with RV10 for the rosy cheeks and inside of the ears; BG13, BG15, RV10 and RV13 for the flowers; RV10 and RV13 for the bow; BG 13, BG15, and BG 18 for the umbrella with N2 and N4 for the handle.  I used a colorless marker to blend and then shellacked everything (except the bear) with a coat or two of clear Wink of Stella.  I used a black gel pen on the bear’s eyes and nose.

I cut a piece of pink card stock into a 5″ x 3 3/4″ rectangle, then cut out the heart using My Favorite Things Abstract Heart Die, punching out the entire piece.  I cut out a piece of craft foam, slightly smaller than 5″ x 3 3/4″, lined up the pink piece of card stock with it, and lightly traced where the heart die should be placed to cut out the foam.  I adhered a piece of Stick It to both sides of the craft foam, and die cut the Abstract heart, punching out the entire piece.   I adhered a piece of Stick it to a piece of silver sparkle card stock and used the same die to cut out the intricate, abstract heart, punching out all the empty spaces.  I set that aside.  I cut a 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″  piece of teal card stock and folded that in half to be a top folding card.  I cut out a piece of  Judikins Window Plastic slightly smaller than 5″ x 3 3/4″,  which I adhered to the back of the pink piece of cardstock using Ranger Wonder Tape.  I peeled off one side of the Stick It paper and adhered the craft foam to the back of the window plastic , being careful to get the hearts aligned.

I wiped the plastic part of the heart with a powder anti-static tool and then wiped that out with a Swiffer cloth.  I wiped the teal card base with a powder tool and then wiped it with a Swiffer cloth.  I then placed a heap of clear seed beads, Iridescent 1/4″ Star confetti, Mini Star and Mini Heart Confetti from Pretty Pink Posh on the upper center of the teal card base.  I peeled off the Stick it from the piece of foam, and gently lowered it on to the teal card base, being mindful not to allow the confetti or beads to roll out of place.  The Stick It is repositionable, however, the confetti and beads can get dislodged, if you reposition it.  Use caution here!

I stamped my greeting from Pretty Pink Posh Rainy Days “Wishing You” on a small rectangle of teal cardstock with Versamark ink, embossed with silver embossing powder, and used a slightly larger piece of silver glitter card stock to frame it.  I stamped the inside of the card with Pretty Pink Posh Rainy Days “Showers of Blessings” with Versamark ink and embossed with silver embossing powder.  I adhered the framed greeting onto the cardstock using my ATG gun.  I also die cut a bear and an umbrella using the coordinating dies from craft foam with stick it on both sides.  I adhered one side of each (had to cut out parts of the umbrella so it didn’t infringe on the bear) and then secured them to the card base.

I then took the silver sparkle abstract heart I had cut out earlier, peeled off the backing of the Stick It paper and centered  it over the window plastic.  I embellished the card using sequins of varying sizes and seed beads from pretty pink posh, adhering them with Ranger Matte Medium glue.  I also glued sequins to the flowers and umbrella. Overall, I was pretty pleased with my right brain’s first foray into the new year. And even happier still, when my left brain tapped me on the shoulder and said:  “Hey, dummy!  Look, you used an Ellen Hutson product.  You used colors from the inspiration pic for the Pin Sights Challenge.  Maybe you should post this…”  And so I’m happy to say I am firing on all cylinders!  Thanks both sides of my brain, for showing up today!  It can be a rare occasion sometimes!

 

Leave a Reply

