Thank God for not so little girls! (And how to save a card from yourself!)

image
The final product!
image
Don’t forget to have your envelope bling it on Home!
image
How to make a bunny sit and the inspiration card.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been in the worst card making slump!  I’m still struggling with post-Christmas crafting blahs.  Fortunately, I have several nieces who have birthdays at opportune times.  Feeling drained of all creativity and tired of staring at Elfa wall shelving, I turned to one of my favorite go to craft supply websites, Ellenhutson.com and their always inspiring “The Classroom”.  Lucky for me, there was a new Pin-Sights Challenge!

And score, there was a beautiful inspiration card by Waleska Galindo in tranquil, soft aqua tones!  It was exactly what I needed to get me going!  I shamelessly ripped off her card but with a couple of my own signature touches–hello Wink of Stella and clear sequins!

I actually made my waves first, but in retrospect, I should have done the background first (although, doing the waves first led to a happy accident I will explain later).  I will tell you how I made my card, but don’t do as I say, ok?

I took two pieces of Canson cold pressed water color paper, 4″ x 2 1/2″ and 4″ x 1 3/4″ and cut them out using WPlus9 Design Studio Wave Border die.  I then put Stick it on both sides of a piece of 4 x 1 1/2″ aqua craft foam and die cut it out to match the shorter wave.  I applied Tumbled Glass distress ink directly to the upper part of each wave, then blended it in with a sponge blending tool and ran it under my heat gun.  Then I applied Peacock Feathers Distress Ink directly to the lower portion of the waves then blended them upwards with the sponge blending tool.  I spritzed both pieces with water, let sit for 30-60 seconds then placed a paper towel directly on them.  I repeated this twice being sure the Peacock Feathers was a deep, saturated color. Then I took a wet paintbrush and flicked Kuretake Gansi Tambi Starry Colors in White Gold on them, and used it to lightly paint the tops of the waves.  After the shorter wave was thoroughly dry, I adhered the craft foam to the back of it.

I then went about making my background (which honestly, I should have done first, lol!)  I used a piece of 4″ x 5″ Canson water color paper and applied Salty Ocean, Broken China, Peacock Feathers, and Mermaid Lagoon direct to paper and used blending tools as described above.  I was absolutely horrified to discover that there was almost no differentiation between the sky and the sea!  What to do; how can I salvage this card?  In desperation, I spritzed a bunch of water on the background, let it sit for a minute then sponged it off with a dry paper towel.  I tried to lift up as much color as possible.  I cut out cloud masks with Pretty Pink Posh rainy day dies from full adhesive Post-it Notes to create masks.  I laid them on the background and applied more distress ink with the sponge blending tools.  Peeling off the masks, I was relieved that the clouds magically transformed the monolithic surface and added texture and lightness.

I stamped the bunny, umbrella, present and flowers from Ellen Hutson’s Essentials by Ellen Bear Ware stamp set with My Favorite Things Hybrid Ink in Hot Fudge on Canson water color paper.  I then colored them with Copic markers.  Flowers:  B39, RV52, and RB17.  Bunny:  N0,N2, N4.  Present:  BG18, BG53, BG000, BG78 and BG72.  Umbrella:  BG13, BG15, BG000, BG53 and N6.  Then I shellacked them all with Wink of Stella and cut them out with their coordinating dies.  I also die cut the bunny and the umbrella out of a piece of white craft foam that had Stick It on both sides.  I adhered the umbrella piece to the back of the umbrella.  I cut the bunny shaped foam right under the belly. and cut off the top part of its legs.  I scored the bunny at the bottom of his belly, and at what I imagined were his knees and folded it so he could be in a sitting position.  I adhered the foam to the bunny.

I assembled the card by determining placement of the floating bouquet under the taller wave.  I glued the bouquet down with Ranger Matte Medium, and then glued the taller wave on top.  I positioned the shorter wave so the present nestled under it. I glued the present with Matte Medium then adhered the shorter wave on top.  I played around a little until I was satisfied with the angle and location of the umbrella and adhered that over the shorter wave.  I seated the bunny on top of the umbrella and secured him down.  Final touches were Avery Elle’s Sentimental stamp set’s “Happy Birthday” stamped in Majestic Blue Versafine Ink with clear embossing powder (again, in retrospect, I should have done this earlier and used my stamp positioning tool–I was lucky that it stamped ok using just an acrylic block and didn’t need to be restamped).  I also used 3 and 4 mm clear sequins from Pretty Pink Posh as well as a half inch  “14” that I cut out of silver sparkle paper (my niece is turning 14) using my Cricut and the Extreme Fonts cartridge (Junior font).

I mounted the card front to a 4 1/4″ x 5 1/4″ piece of teal card stock and adhered that onto a 4 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ pool card base.

I also decorated an A-6  envelope (this card is too big and too fat for an A-4) with  Ellen Hutson’s Essentials by Ellen Spread The Sparkle Stamp set, Copic markers, Wink of Stella Nuvo Drops,a sentiment from Paper Smooches Fun and Flirty stamp set and letters stamped from Concord and 9th Sophisticated Scripts sets.!

(I meant to put the inspiration pic from the Pin Sight Challenge up top, but I was unable to execute that!  D’oh!)  One of these days, I will get this blogging thing down, lol!  Maybe… Thank you for visiting my very humble blog!  🙂

Leave a Reply

