Ellen Hutson Pin-Sights Challenge!

The awesome people at Ellen Hutson are having another Pin-Sights Challenge.  They do one every month, and the only requirements are that you use one Ellen Hutson product and let your creativity fly off the springboard of the Pinterest Inspiration pic posted.  Tons of fun and easy peasy–no stress either since it is a random drawing for a $50 Ellen Hutson gift certificate.

I loved  the greens and golds in the  Inspiration Picture; they are what really spoke to me.  I was also super excited to break out some of my newest toys to create my card (which I made for a friend who is having surgery soon).

I started off with a 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ piece of textured, shimmery gold card stock, which I die cut with Pretty Pink Posh’s new Stitched Notes die.  I then laid the inner detail wing dies from Concord and 9th’s newer Butterfly Card die set as close together as possible and ran that through my die cutter.  I applied Stick it to a piece of black card stock and cut the wings with the larger outer wing dies from the same set.  I then laid the inner detail dies on the black card stock wings and ran that through my die cutter.  I trimmed off the stray pieces of card stock and applied liberal amounts of clear Wink of Stella on each of the detailed wing pieces.  Then I removed the adhesive backing from the Stick It and carefully laid the detailed black wings over the detailed gold wings on the gold panel.

I cut a piece of Bristol Smooth ️️paper into a rectangle slightly smaller than 3 1/2″ x 5″.  I traced around the larger butterfly outer dies lightly with a pencil so I had a guide for coloring the butterfly.  For the upper two wings, I used Copic G02 (Spectrum Green) and G17 (Forest Green) to color the two upper wings and G02 (Spectrum Green) and G00 (Jade Green) to color the lower wings.  I applied Wink of Stella generously to the wings.  I secured the gold panel on top of the Bristol smooth panel with my ATG.  I cut out the body of the butterfly from a piece of black card stock with Stick It and a piece of black craft foam with Stick It.  I adhered the cardstock body on the foam body and liberally applied Wink of Stella to the butterfly’s body.  I removed the adhesive backing from the craft foam and attached it to the butterfly.

I ran a piece of 4″ x 5 1/4″ black card stock through my die cutter with the Pretty Pink Posh Stictched Notes rectangle, and I adhered it to a piece of green card stock with tape runner.  Then I adhesed the gold panel inside that with ATG.  I cut a strip of black card stock and stamped it with the “Thinking of You” sentiment from Ellen Hutson’s Mondo Hydrangea.  I just love that font!  I finished the card off with one of each size of Pretty Pink Posh’s new Sparkling Clear Confetti mix.

I’m really happy with how this card turned out, and it was a lot of fun to make!  There are so many great new products out there, it’s hard not to want them all!

Thank you for stopping by!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

